Australia’s new parliament sworn-in

The members of Australia’s 43rd parliament were sworn-in on the 28/09/2010┬áin Canberra by Chief Justice of the High Court Robert French. Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Opposition Leader Tony Abbott attended the traditional smoking ceremony, which was preceded by a speech from Aboriginal elder Matilda House

“On the occasion of this opening of the 43rd Parliament I welcome you,” she said, adding “With this welcome I express the hope of a united, reconciled nation, the oldest living culture joined with the many diverse cultures of a modern successful Australia.”

Deputy Governor-General Robert French officially opened the Parliament and MPs were sworn-in.

Prime Minister Gillard told parliament it was a “cause for regret” that some proposed parliamentary reforms had already failed, in a reference to the Coalition’s decision to back away from pairing the Speaker.


Comments are closed.